Untitled Document

Located in the heart of the Greater Yellowstone ecological system and the Rocky Mountains, the School of Architecture and Montana State University are internationally recognized for research and creative activity drawn from the social, cultural and environmental conditions of the western landscape.

The School of Architecture offers a five and a half year professional program leading to a Master of Architecture degree, fully accredited by NAAB. The program has 400 undergraduate and 80 graduate students.

In the United States, most state registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit U.S. professional degree programs in architecture, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted a 6-year, 3-year, or 2-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards.

Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may consist of a pre-professional undergraduate degree and a professional graduate degree that, when earned sequentially, constitute an accredited professional education. However, the pre-professional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

Montana State University School of Architecture offers the following NAAB-accredited degree program:

Master of Architecture (pre-professional + 42 graduate credits)

Next accreditation visit for this program will take place in 2014

To view an interactive book created by the School of Architecture, please enter here SOA V16